Six Red Stars Reach W-League Finals Series

Four teams remain in the quest for a Grand Final appearance

CHICAGO — The seedings for the Finals Series in the Westfield W-League is finalized, with six Red Stars players across three teams fighting for a victory in this season’s Grand Final.

Sam Kerr, Alyssa Mautz, Katie Naughton, and Nikki Stanton led Perth Glory to fourth place in the league ladder, meaning they take on Premier winners Melbourne Victory in the semifinals. Both teams faced off in Round 14, a narrow 2-1 victory for Melbourne in which Kerr scored Perth’s lone goal, she currently leads the league in goals with 13 in 11 appearances. It was the same scoreline when both teams met back in December.

In the other semifinal, Yuki Nagasato’s Brisbane Roar takes on Danielle Colaprico’s Sydney FC. Both teams recently met in Round 12, a 3-1 victory for Sydney. Colaprico’s side was also victorious when the teams met in Round 6, a 5-1 win where Nagasato scored the lone goal for Brisbane.

Both matches are set to take place this weekend. Perth Glory will take on Melbourne Victory on Saturday, February 9 at 8:55 pm C.T. Brisbane and Sydney FC will face off following them on Sunday, February 10 at 2:10 am C.T.

Related Stories

Laura Ricketts-Led Group of Diverse Investors Buys Chicago Red Stars in $60 Million Deal

Sep. 01, 2023

Red Stars to Host “World Cup Welcome Back” Match Against Angel City FC

Aug. 05, 2023

Chicago Red Stars Release Broadcast Schedule for the Rest of 2023 Season

Apr. 26, 2023

Chicago Red Stars Add Forward Cheyna Matthews to Preseason Roster

Mar. 10, 2023
Copyright © 2023
All Rights Reserved
Privacy PolicyTerms & Conditions