Julie Ertz, Sam Kerr Nominated for 2018 ESPYS Awards

CHICAGO – Chicago Red Stars midfielder Julie Ertz and forward Sam Kerr have been nominated for three awards all together for the 2018 ESPYS Awards. The NWSL Award is the first award for a women’s soccer league at the ESPYS.

Ertz has been nominated for Best Female Athlete, her first individual nomination. Ertz had a standout year in 2017 after moving positions from central defender to a holding midfielder for both the Red Stars and the U.S. Women’s National Team.

Making a name for herself in the new position, Ertz started scoring right off the bat, tallying four during the season for Chicago. The midfielder was stuck with injury early on in the 2018 season, but has recovered and is leading the Red Stars in her first year as captain. For the U.S. WNT, has scored one goal in four appearances this year.

Ertz has won one ESPYS Award in 2015 as part of the U.S. WNT who won Best Team after winning the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Not unaccustomed to awards, Kerr has been nominated for Best International Women’s Soccer Player and Best NWSL Player, the newest award to the ESPYS. The forward showcased her world-renown talent in 2017, setting the NWSL record for goals, scoring 17 in a single season. While winning the Golden Boot honors, Kerr was also earned the MVP Award for being the best player in the NWSL.

Since the move to Chicago, Kerr is leading the team with five goals, placing second in the league thus far. Tallying five goals this year for Australia, Kerr and the Matilda’s will try to make moves next year after the have already qualified for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The 2018 ESPYS will be broadcast live on July 18 (7 p.m. CT) on ABC or Watch ESPN.




Related Stories

Chicago Red Stars Release Broadcast Schedule for the Rest of 2023 Season

Apr. 26, 2023

Chicago Red Stars Add Forward Cheyna Matthews to Preseason Roster

Mar. 10, 2023
Penelope Hocking U23 2203-12

Photos | 2023 Draftees

Jan. 23, 2023

Chicago Red Stars Open Fan Voting for End-of-Season Player Awards

Oct. 24, 2022