Home Opener vs Seattle Reign | Sat. March 23, 3pm
November 21, 2016

Jen Hoy Converts Penalty Kick for Round 3 Win

Hoy notches her first goal of the season

CHICAGO – With all eight Chicago Red Stars taking the field this past weekend, two players helped their team to victory, as the rest fell in Round 3 action.

Arin Gilliland, Jen Hoy and the Newcastle Jets defeated Vanessa DiBernardo, Alyssa Mautz and Perth Glory 1-0. DiBernardo’s technical skills gave her multiple opportunities to get up the field, including one shot that managed to just skim off the crossbar to provide pressure from Perth. After a scoreless first half, Hoy was taken down in the box in the 48th minute, which resulted in a penalty kick for the Jets. Hoy stepped up and easily struck the back of the net, giving Newcastle a 1-0 lead.

Mere minutes later, Mautz received the ball just outside the 18-yard box and sent a rocket toward the goal, but was ultimately saved by Claire Coelho in goal. In Gilliland fashion, she was seen all over the field, using her defensive skills to keep the ball out of danger and seal the Jet’s win. The win moves the Jets in a two-way tie for first place with Sydney FC.

Despite Adelaide United’s dominating attack in the second half, Western Sydney Wanderers defeated Adelaide 2-1 after scoring in the 85th minute. Minutes into the second half, defender Katie Naughton managed to get a shot on frame, but it fell into the hands of the Wanderer’s goalkeeper. Unable to get any shots off in the first half, Sofia Huerta sent three in the second half, all going just wide off the goal.

A late goal for Samantha Johnson and Melbourne Victory wasn’t enough in the 2-1 defeat by Sydney FC.

Round 4:
Canberra United (1-1-0) vs. Newcastle Jets (2-1-0)
Melbourne City FC (2-0-0) vs. Melbourne Victory (0-2-1)
Sydney FC (2-1-0) vs. Adelaide United (0-1-1)

Red Stars Stats:
Vanessa DiBernardo (Perth Glory) – 72 minutes
Alyssa Mautz (Perth Glory) – 90 minutes

Danielle Colaprico (Adelaide United) – 90 minutes
Sofia Huerta (Adelaide United) – 90 minutes
Katie Naughton (Adelaide United) – 90 minutes

Arin Gilliland (Newcastle Jets) – 90 minutes
Jen Hoy (Newcastle Jets) – 64 minutes, GOAL

Sam Johnson (Melbourne Victory) – 90 minutes


Related Stories

Chicago Red Stars Announce First-Ever Match at Wrigley Field on June 8

Apr 09, 2024
Read More

Chicago Red Stars, Wintrust Announce Partnership for Significant Community Investment

Feb 27, 2024
Read More

Laura Ricketts-Led Group of Diverse Investors Buys Chicago Red Stars in $60 Million Deal

Sep 01, 2023
Read More
See More Related
Wintrust logo white
Copyright © 2023
All Rights Reserved
Privacy PolicyTerms & Conditions