Ertz Named 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year

CHICAGO (December 20, 2017) – Red Stars midfielder Julie Ertz has been voted the 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year.

Ertz is the third player to be named both the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year and Young Female Player of the Year. She was the Young Female Player of the Year in 2012 when she captained the USA to the FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup title and won the Bronze Ball as the third-best player in the tournament. Lauren Holiday (2014 & 2007) and Tobin Heath (2016 & 2009) are the other two, making the five years between the awards for Ertz the shortest time for any player.

Ertz, a breakout star at center back for the USA at the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup, started playing defensive midfielder during the Tournament of Nations last summer and made a huge impact at the position during the final eight games of the year, a stretch in which the USA went 7-0-1.

Her impact on both sides of the ball for club and country was impressive as she combined her world-class ball-winning skills with an ability to set the attack in midfield while proving consistently dangerous in the penalty area. Ertz garnered 51.6% of the votes. Megan Rapinoe finished second.

Ertz came on as a second-half substitute against Brazil on July 30 at the Tournament of Nations in the 57th minute and would go on to score the dramatic game-winner in the 89th minute of the epic 4-3 victory. She then played all but 52 minutes through the team’s final seven games at defensive midfielder, dominating the center of the field while scoring five more goals, including a brace against New Zealand, to finish second on the team in scoring. Ertz’s six total goals in 2017 almost equaled her overall total (8) from her previous four years on the WNT.

Playing almost exclusively as a defensive midfielder, Ertz played all but 48 minutes across 22 of the Chicago Red Stars’ 24 regular season matches – as well as in the NWSL semifinal vs. the NC Courage – while scoring four goals and adding three assists. She was named to the NWSL Second XI.

“I want to give a big thanks to everyone who voted,” said Ertz. “This was a really unique year for me with a lot of different challenges, but it means so much to have the support of my husband, my family, my coaches and my teammates. I’m honored and thankful from the bottom of my heart and I’m really looking forward to next year and as we have some big goals to accomplish.”

A new voting process for these awards was put into place in 2014. Votes are collected from respective National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2017, American soccer league (MLS, NASL and NWSL) head coaches, select media members, former players and administrators.

Players cannot win the Young Male or Young Female award more than once.

The U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year has been awarded since 1985, when midfielder Sharon Remer earned the first Female Athlete of the Year honor. The Young Female Player of the Year honor was first awarded in 1998, with Cindy Parlow earning the honor.

Related Stories

Chicago Red Stars Release Broadcast Schedule for the Rest of 2023 Season

Apr. 26, 2023

Chicago Red Stars Add Forward Cheyna Matthews to Preseason Roster

Mar. 10, 2023
Penelope Hocking U23 2203-12

Photos | 2023 Draftees

Jan. 23, 2023

Chicago Red Stars Open Fan Voting for End-of-Season Player Awards

Oct. 24, 2022