NWSL Launched
The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) was launched in 2012 out of the collapse of the WPS with support from the US, Canadian, and Mexican soccer federations. The partnership with the national federations ensured the top players from each country's women’s national teams would compete in the new league. The inaugural season took place in 2013 and featured 8 teams, four of whom were former members of the WPS, including the Red Stars.

With the start of the 2016 season, the NWSL broke the 3-season trend for the previous two Women’s professional leagues in the US. Now, the NWSL is entering into its 12th season with 14 teams, a massive new media deal, and an expansion of two more teams already planned for 2025.
Pix StoryESPNWEqualizer SoccerJust Women's Sports