Brian, Ertz, Naeher and Short Part of U.S. WNT Allocation

A total of 31 players will be participating as federation players in the upcoming season

CHICAGO – The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced today the official list of U.S. and Canadian Women’s National Team allocated players for the 2019 season. A total of 31 players will be participating as allocated players in the upcoming season, 22 from U.S. Soccer and nine from the Canadian Soccer Association. The Chicago Red Stars players on the allocation list includes U.S. WNT players Morgan Brian, Julie Ertz, Alyssa Naeher and Casey Short.

There are five newly allocated players on the list: Brian, Adrianna Franch, and McCall Zerboni from the U.S. and Canada’s Stephanie Labbé and Sophie Schmidt.  Labbé was previously allocated for the 2017 season, but returns in 2019 to a new club, the North Carolina Courage.

The youngest member of the 2015 U.S. WNT that won the FIFA Women’s World Cup, Brian returns to the allocation list following a year off due to her playing commitment overseas in 2018. Earning her first cap for the U.S. WNT on September 3, 2013, Brian has since earned 81 caps for the United States.

The captain of Chicago, Ertz has made a name for herself since becoming a standout at the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. One of just five U.S. players to play every minute in all seven matches for the United States during the World Cup, she recently transitioned from a central defender to a midfield for both club and country. The 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of Year, she’s received 73 caps and 18 goals for the senior national teal.

Taking over first-choice goalkeeper in 2017, Naeher played in 1,170 minutes while starting 13 of the USA’s 16 matches in 2017, compiling a record of 10-2-1 with six shutouts. The goalkeeper has earned 38 caps for the U.S. WNT.

Short, a newly allocated member last season, had a breakthrough season for her country in 2017 and 2018. After debuting for USA in 2016, Short has gone on to earn 27 caps, including logging 1,116 minutes in 2017.

Following the 2018 season, Jane Campbell (HOU), Lynn Williams (NC), Amy Rodriguez Shilling (UTA), and Taylor Smith (SEA) are no longer allocated by U.S. Soccer and Sabrina D’Angelo, Janine Beckie, Adriana Leon, and Rebecca Quinn are no longer allocated by Canada Soccer.

The following is a club-by-club list of U.S. and Canadian allocated players for the 2019 NWSL season:

Chicago Red Stars
Morgan Brian (USA)*
Julie Ertz (USA)
Alyssa Naeher (USA)
Casey Short (USA)

Houston Dash
Allysha Chapman (CSA)
Nichelle Prince (CSA)
Sophie Schmidt (CSA)*

North Carolina Courage
Abby Dahlkemper (USA)
Crystal Dunn (USA)
Stephanie Labbé (CSA)*
Samantha Mewis (USA)
McCall Zerboni (USA)*

Orlando Pride
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Shelina Zadorsky (CSA)

Portland Thorns FC
Adrianna Franch (USA)*
Tobin Heath(USA)
Lindsey Horan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CSA)
Emily Sonnett (USA)

Reign FC
Allie Long (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Sky Blue FC
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Kailen Sheridan (CSA)

Utah Royals FC
Diana Matheson (CSA)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christen Press (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CSA)

Washington Spirit
Rose Lavelle (USA)
Mallory Pugh (USA)

* = New Allocated Player in 2019

The 2019 NWSL regular season kicks of the weekend of April 13, 2019. Chicago opens on the road against the reigning NWSL Champions, North Carolina Courage on April 13. The following weekend, Chicago hosts Portland in the home opener for the Red Stars at SeatGeek Stadium The match is a doubleheader with the Chicago Fire who will kick off at noon, followed by the Red Stars kicking off at 2:30 PM. Tickets are available here.

Related Stories

Chicago Red Stars Release Broadcast Schedule for the Rest of 2023 Season

Apr. 26, 2023

Chicago Red Stars Add Forward Cheyna Matthews to Preseason Roster

Mar. 10, 2023
Penelope Hocking U23 2203-12

Photos | 2023 Draftees

Jan. 23, 2023

Chicago Red Stars Open Fan Voting for End-of-Season Player Awards

Oct. 24, 2022