Next Home Match
Red Stars vs Gotham FC
July 20 | 4:00pm CT
Buy Tickets
January 8, 2014

Chicago Red Stars Announce Protected Player List Ahead of Friday’s NWSL Expansion Draft

CHICAGO, IL (Jan. 8, 2014) – The Chicago Red Stars today announced the club’s lists of protected and unprotected players for Friday’s NWSL Expansion Draft. The Houston Dash will become the ninth club to join the National Women’s Soccer League when they begin play this season. They will be able to select up to ten (10) players in the Expansion Draft, though no club can lose more than two players. The results of the Expansion Draft will be announced starting at 10 a.m. (CT).

Each current NWSL club had the opportunity to protect nine (playoff teams) or ten (non-playoff teams) players from their 2014 roster. Any club with more than two (2) U.S. allocated players must leave at least one U.S. allocated player unprotected. The Dash will be allowed to select no more than two (2) U.S. allocated players, one (1) Canadian allocated player and one (1) Mexican allocated player. A complete list of the Expansion Draft rules can be found on


Zakiya Bywaters
Lori Chalupny
Taryn Hemmings
Jennifer Hoy
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Leslie Osborne
Christen Press (USA)
Rachel Quon (CAN)
Casey Short (2013 Hold-over rights)
Taylor Vancil


Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Ella Masar
Alyssa Mautz
Jackie Santacaterina
Julianne Sitch
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)
Lindsay Tarpley (2013 Hold-over rights)
Lydia Vandenbergh
Michelle Wenino

For a full list of the NWSL’s Protected Player lists, click here.


Related Stories

Chicago Red Stars Break National Women’s Soccer League Attendance Record

Jun 08, 2024
Read More

Chicago Red Stars Announce Programming for Week of ‘Red Stars Take Over Wrigley Field’ Match

Jun 03, 2024
Read More

Chicago Red Stars to host Family Fan Fest at Gallagher Way

May 07, 2024
Read More
See More Related
Wintrust logo white
Copyright © 2023
All Rights Reserved
Privacy PolicyTerms & Conditions