CHICAGO (Feb. 12, 2013) – The Chicago Red Stars have unveiled the schedule for the inaugural 2013 NWSL (National Women’s Soccer League) season. They’ll kick off their season at home on Sunday, April 14, at 5pm CT against Seattle Reign FC, a team that features USWNT star Hope Solo. The schedule features 11 home and 11 away fixtures that will conclude on August 18. All home dates this season will be available as full season ticket packages, which are on sale now, or as individual or group game ticket options, which will be on sale in the next 2 weeks.

The Red Stars, with marquee players Shannon Boxx, Lori Chalupny, and Leslie Osborne, will play the 2013 home season at Benedictine University Sports Complex in Lisle, Illinois, a western suburb of Chicago.  This season at Benedictine will feature VIP field-side and goal-line seating, as well as a beer-garden, and open pregame tailgating.  With the additional seating options, the total seating capacity will be around 3,600 spectators.

Each of the league’s eight clubs will play a total of 22 games during a 19-week span, with a high percentage of games being played on weekends and holidays. The Red Stars have two holiday events as they meet Alex Morgan and Portland Thorns FC in a Mother’s Day matchup on May 12th and the WNY Flash, featuring Abby Wambach and Carli Lloyd, on July 4th in a game that will see the Red Stars play for the first time ever in a custom red jersey top.

The top four teams from regular season play will qualify for the NWSL playoffs and compete in the semifinals Saturday, Aug. 24. The NWSL will crown its inaugural champion after the final on Saturday, Aug. 31.

Chicago Red Stars 2013 NWSL Schedule
(home games in bold)

Sunday, April 14, 5:00 PM vs. Seattle Reign
Saturday, April 27, 7:00 PM vs. Portland Thorns FC
Saturday, May 4, 6:00 PM at Boston Breakers
Wednesday, May 8, 7:00 PM at Sky Blue
Sunday, May 12, 5:00 PM vs. Portland Thorns FC
Friday, May 24, 7:05 PM at Western New York Flash
Saturday, June 1, 7:30 PM at Portland Thorns FC
Sunday, June 9, 3:00 PM vs. Boston Breakers
Thursday, June 13, 6:30 PM vs. FC Kansas City
Sunday, June 16, 3:10 PM at FC Kansas City
Wednesday, June 19, 6:30 PM vs. Western New York Flash
Saturday, June 29, 8:00 PM at Seattle Reign FC
Thursday, July 4, 1:00 PM vs. Western New York Flash
Wednesday, July 10, 7:30 PM at Washington Spirit
Sunday, July 14, 3:00 PM vs. FC Kansas City
Thursday, July 25, 7:00 PM at Seattle Reign FC
Sunday, July 28, 7:00 PM at Portland Thorns FC
Saturday, July 20, 6:00 PM vs. Washington Spirit
Saturday, August 3, 6:00 PM vs. Seattle Reign
Wednesday, August 7, 7:30 PM at Washington Spirit
Saturday, August 10, 6:00 PM vs. Sky Blue FC
Sunday, August 18, 3:10 PM at FC Kansas City

Season tickets are on sale now at chicagoredstars.com and feature three options: General $165, Club $200, and VIP Fieldside $495. Single game and group tickets will be on sale prior to March 1.

The Chicago Red Stars were selected as one of 8 teams to compete in the new NWSL (National Women’s Soccer League) that was formed and organized by the U.S. Soccer Federation. The other teams include Boston Breakers, Washington Spirit (DC), FC Kansas City, Sky Blue FC (NJ), Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, and Western NY Flash. The Red Stars were league finalists in WPSL in 2011 and in WPSL Elite in 2012, and National Cup Champions in 2012.

Stay tuned to www.chicagoredstars.com for further details or follow the team on twitter @chicagoredstars and facebook.com/chicagoredstars.

www.chicagoredstars.com

Facebook

Leave a Reply